What is Peppol?

Peppol is a set of specifications that help make cross-border eProcurement easier. The Peppol interoperability framework is currently used for e-invoicing in Australia and New Zealand.

The network (Peppol eDelivery Network)

The Peppol eDelivery Network connects systems with a set of standardised business processes and technical requirements. This provides an interoperable and secure network connecting all Access Points. All Access Points in the network use the same electronic messaging protocols, formats and digital signature technologies. This helps ensure secure messaging and makes it quick and easy for trading partners to connect and trade.

The document specifications (Peppol Business Interoperability Specifications ‘BIS’)

Peppol developed the Business Interoperability Specifications (BIS) to standardise the electronic documents exchanged and validated in the network. It specifies the process within the eDelivery network. The BIS requires the Universal Business language (UBL) to be used for documents within the network.


The Peppol framework is governed, owned and maintained by OpenPEPPOL. OpenPEPPOL is a non-profit international association that looks at ways to enable businesses to easily deal electronically.
Peppol Authorities also have the responsibility to govern the eDelivery network and BIS within a defined jurisdiction. They also can approve and remove Access Points in the e-invoicing network.

Where are Peppol standards used?

Peppol is in use in 32 countries with 15 of those using Peppol authorities. Here is a list of the Peppol authorities and the countries where they operate:

  • Agency for Digital Government (DIGG), Sweden
  • Agency for Digital Italy (AGID), Italy
  • Australian Taxation Office (ATO), Australia
  • Coordination Office for IT Standards (KoSIT), Free Hanseatic City of Bremen – Germany
  • Danish Business Authority (ERST), Denmark
  • Department of Health and Social Care (NHS), UK
  • Department of Public Expenditure and Reform, Ireland
  • Federal Public Service Policy and Support (BOSA), Belgium
  • Financial Management Authority (FJS), Iceland
  • General Secretariat of Information Systems – Ministry of Digital Governance (GSIS), Greece
  • Info-communications Media Development Authority (IMDA), Singapore
  • Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment (MBIE), New Zealand
  • Ministry of Economic Development (MR), Poland
  • Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations (NPA), Netherlands
  • Norwegian Agency for Public and Financial Management (DFØ), Norway

If you’re interested in learning more about e-invoicing, sign up to our newsletter below.

Request a call

Chat with one of our experts

Just fill out your details below and we’ll be in touch within one business day.